Call Us Today
Free Consultation 410-321-4994

Towson Divorce Lawyer [ Jurisdiction and Venue

Maryland Jurisdiction In Divorce and Custody Matters

Jurisdiction refers to the right of the Circuit Court for Baltimore County, Circuit Court for Baltimore City, Circuit Court for Harford County and Circuit Court for Anne Arundel County to hear the case. To differentiate, only Circuit Courts have jurisdiction to award divorces and make final custody decisions. Although the District Court makes temporary decisions that have far-reaching consequences about family law disputes, these questions are ultimately decided by the Circuit Court. Venue refers to the appropriate forum to hear aa case-- for example: should the case be decided where mom lives in Bel Air, where dad lives in Bel Air or where everyone once lived together in Baltimore County. When parents live in different states, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act must be applied including by multiple state courts at the same time.